23.1 C
New Delhi
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Bharat Ratna to Be Conferred on Chaudhary Charan Singh, Narasimha Rao, MS Swaminathan

Must read

The government led by Narendra Modi announced on Friday that Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award, would be bestowed upon former Prime Ministers Chaudhary Charan Singh and PV Narasimha Rao, as well as agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan.

Addressing the nation, PM Modi stated, “It is a privilege for our government to honor former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh with the Bharat Ratna. This recognition is a tribute to his unparalleled contributions to the nation. He devoted his entire life to championing the rights and welfare of farmers.”

PM Modi praised Chaudhary Charan Singh’s leadership, highlighting his roles as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Home Minister of the country, and his unwavering stance during the Emergency period. His steadfast dedication to farmers and commitment to democracy during challenging times serve as an inspiration to the nation.

Following the announcement, NV Subhash, the grandson of PV Narasimha Rao, expressed joy, stating that his grandfather’s contributions had been overlooked for a considerable period. He expressed gratitude towards PM Modi for recognizing Narasimha Rao’s significant contributions, stating, “I am very happy and thankful to PM Modi. His contributions have been acknowledged.”

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article